The Salem monastery ponds - legacy of the Cistercians
Leicht
Since the monks of Salem Monastery were forbidden to eat meat, fish farming gained increased importance. The landscape around the monastery, with its depressions between the hills, offered ideal conditions for the creation of fish ponds. Today, this wetland landscape is a popular local recreation area.
Details der Tour
Empfohlene Jahreszeit
- J
- F
- M
- A
- M
- J
- J
- A
- S
- O
- N
- D
Besonderheiten der Tour
Aussichtsreich / Kulturelle Highlights
Wegebeschaffenheit
About 15,000 years ago, the glaciers of the last Ice Age retreated from the Lake Constance area and left an extraordinary landscape of elongated hills: the drumlins. Like islands, the mostly forested hills today rise from the lower-lying, flat meadows and fields, forming a beautiful park-like landscape. But not only natural forces shaped the landscape. At Salem, the Cistercian monks also made a decisive contribution centuries ago when they created the enchanting monastery ponds for fish farming. Like a chain, Spitznagelweiher, Markgräfinweiher and Martinsweiher, Bifangweiher and Killenweiher are connected by ditches. They are not only particularly attractive, but through wide silting zones and adjacent meadows of high ecological value for the animal and plant world. At the time of secularization, around 1800, there were 24 fish ponds in the Salem area, more than half of which were in the immediate vicinity of the monastery; Salem also held fishing rights in the rivers at Lake Constance. Today, there are still 13 of these ponds, in which fish are still bred.
Wegbeschreibung
Anyone who wants to visit the magnificent Salem Castle with all its special features should plan at least 2-3 hours for this.
Between the castle and Salem-Stefansfeld, just before parking lot 2, the "Lange Weg" leads straight to the right towards Salem-Mimmenhausen, where the worthwhile Feuchtmayer Museum is located. Cross L 201 and follow the cycle path until you reach Bahnhofstraße. Cross this and continue straight on "Zur Öle". Pass under the railway line and turn left at the large chestnut tree onto the gravel path. Cycle along the reed-fringed Stefansfelder Canal through the marsh towards Buggensegel to the district road. On the opposite side of the road, turn right onto a gravel path, cross the next district road. Then it goes over a beautiful old railway bridge through the forest to the lily-rich Hinterer Killenweiher, where you turn left and cycle along the southern shore. In the middle of the charming pond is a manor-style country house on Killenberg with a small chapel (private property). In the 18th century, it served the famous Baroque sculptor Joseph Anton Feuchtmayer as a place to live and work. Keep left on the forest path, then cross the district road, at the next fork keep left (railway underpass), then right via Hallendorf (turn right before the hamlet!) and along the Seefelder Aach to Mühlhofen. There, in the village center, the drinking water fountain with cool Lake Constance water invites you to a refreshing rest. Finally, at the crossroads at the bridge, turn left onto the cycle path past the Uhldingen-Mühlhofen station up to the pedestrian traffic light in Oberuhldingen. Turn right here into Tüfinger Straße. After the railway underpass, turn left, passing the picturesque, reed-fringed Kaltenbrunnen Weiher. Now always go straight ahead and follow the signpost "Affenberg/Birnau". On the right you can see the Lower Nellenfurter Weiher. Continue to the sign "Birnau" and turn right over the dam: it separates the Lower from the Upper Nellenfurter Weiher and offers a magical view of both waters, which are covered with water lilies in summer. After the dam, turn left to the historic Prälatenweg. This path, which connects Salem Castle with the Birnau pilgrimage church, is now followed. Past the Affenberg, through a wooded area, at the end of which the view opens to the Markgräfinweiher, the path rises slightly to the idyllic Spitznagelhof with the fish ponds. From the farm, roll down comfortably to the wayside cross at the large lime tree, the so-called Polish Cross, at the height of the Leopoldsberg drumlin. Turn left to the next fork in the path. Here turn right and follow the enclosing wall of the castle to the parking lot.
The bike route can be started from any place along the route and ridden in both directions.
Shortcuts are possible:
From the foot of Spitznagelberg, cycle along the Markgräfinweiher and Martinsweiher. Immediately after the Martinsweiher, turn right, the next junction left and continue to Bifangweiher. Cycle along the shore to a small parking lot. From here, turn right onto the bike path parallel to the district road past Olsenweiher and return via Mühlhofen to the starting point.
Weitere Informationen
Sights along the way
- Salem Monastery and Castle: former Cistercian monastery, founded in 1134, since secularization in 1803 the seat of the Margraves of Baden, today owned by the state of Baden-Württemberg.
You can see 700 years of construction history, as well as various museums and craft workshops.
Open daily from April 1 to November 1
www.salem.de - Affenberg: on the former Mendlishausen farmstead there is now a free enclosure where around 200 Barbary macaques live as in the wild. The area also includes a stork colony and a fallow deer enclosure.
Open daily from mid-March to early November
www.affenberg-salem.de - Feuchtmayer Museum: In Mimmenhausen near the monastery, Joseph Anton Feuchtmayer acquired the Steuer- and Landschaftshaus as a residence and studio. In 2000, the municipality of Salem established a museum there, which vividly presents the life and work of the artist.
Open from April to October on weekends and public holidays.
www.feuchtmayermuseum.de
Places to eat
Markgräflich Badischer Gasthof Schwanen
Schlossbezirk 1, 88682 Salem
Tel. 0049 (0)7553/283
www.schlosshotel-schwanen.de
Mendlishauser Hof (self-service tavern)
Affenberg Salem, 88682 Salem
Tel. 0049 (0)7553/381
www.affenberg-salem.de